Push-UP Project: Day Four

What started on February 11th and was supposed to last five days has spun out of control. I’m sure I’ve left you all hanging in suspense, with questions like: Does he still do push ups? Did he push himself too far and can’t pick himself up off the floor? Fair, valid questions, but rest assured I have not been planted face down on the floor since February 17th (the date this post is based on).

Yes, I was going according to schedule when Valentine’s Day came along and ruined everything. Well, that and poor planning. That’s the day I should’ve been Day Four, but due to poor planning on my part I wasn’t able to, then it just got worse. I was finally able to pull it together and attempt Day Four on February 17th and here’s how it went:

A new record, baby: 100!

Again, the parameters are simple: a three minute window to do as many push-ups as possible. For this one, I decided to to start with sets of twenty and take it from there.

I did three sets of 20, taking approximately 15 seconds of rest between each. One minute in and I was already at 40 and feeling pretty good. Where’s the challenge? I was ready for more weight. So, my wife put the cat on my back. That’s right, we’re on to Cat Ups now.

IMG_0004_2
Why the cat? It’s more badass if you can handle having another living creature on your back. It’d be cooler if I could have a person sit on my back while doing them, but I’m just not ready for that yet. Plus, much like in testing for rocket launches, cosmetics and most roller coasters, animal testing was necessary. Start with a cat, work your way up to a dog, then a monkey, then a human.

IMG_0001_2
The third set of twenty started to burn a little so I knocked it back to sets of 15, and the rest might’ve been reduced to ten seconds (can’t recall for sure). I started to tire, and sadly the cat on my back wasn’t quite the wise motivator as, say, Yoda was for Luke during the piggyback sessions of his Jedi training.

Two sets of 15 were hammered out, then I threw it all in for last surge. In the waning seconds I was able to rip off 10 to bring my total to the magic milestone of 100.

My friend Mark was able to pull off 105 on his first attempt, so I need to tip my cap to him. That’s the highest total that I’m aware of. Basically, he’s the strongest man in the world right now. But it doesn’t matter if I can’t top his total. It started out as a sibling rivalry and I’m dominating my younger brother. The only thing that matters here is that I come out on top during the Feats of Strength at our next family Festivus gathering.

Tags: , , , , , ,

About ejnshow

Runner. Writer. Lover of the absurd. Hobbies include bringing all three of these elements together.

Leave a Reply

InspiRUN

Stream of consciousness / Inspiration on the Run

Thor Kirleis

Making it Happen...

Marx Running

A Running Specialty Store and So Much More

Kelly O'Mara

professional triathlete, amateur troublemaker

#keeprunningblog

"A runner must run with dreams in his heart." - Emil Zapotek

Toni Reavis

~ ~ WANDERING IN A RUNNING WORLD ~~

runnersarah

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Sass & Balderdash

Always tongue in cheek, often egg on face.

Run Prayerfully

Moving with the Spirit - Mile by Mile

RUNNING ON FULL

Documenting life as a competetive runner / Exploring alternative ways to fuel without wheat, dairy or soy

Wandering Wino Foodie

Exploring the world for delicious wine and food!

