Obligatory Pre-Super Bowl Blog

As I hit the ‘Publish’ button, there is just over an hour left until Super Bowl XLVII kicks off. Before my ridiculously small, ridiculously awesome Super Bowl party kicks off there are a few things I need to discuss with my loyal reader(s?).

First of all, I’m a Niners fan and sick of apologizing for it! That’s right, this lifetime New Englander is a fan of a west coast team. For a guy, team loyalty has a lot to do with what your dad followed. That’s especially true for my Red Sox roots, but that’s pretty much the extent of it. My Dad was a Vikings fan and the Patriots were a joke during my formative years. What was I to do?

Jerry-Rice-Joe-Montana--C10108535_display_imageI remember way back when I was in third grade, my Dad was very excited after the Vikings beat the 49ers in the playoffs. Perhaps it was out of sympathy, but from that day forward I was a 49ers fan. Man, kids are idiots. But what a lucky idiot I was! The Niners won the next two Super Bowls and I was hooked. What happened when they went for their 3peat? The Giants beat them in the NFC Championship game on a last second field goal. That was the beginning of my hatred of the Giants, and they would prove to ruin a few parties going forward. Pats fans can understand that.

Speaking of which, I am Pats fan too. That started in high school when they hired Parcells and drafted Bledsoe. For the first time in my tenure as a football fan, there was excitement and hope about the team and it was impossible to not get swept up in it. Plus, being in two different conferences meant that my loyalties would seldom clash. It’s good that I liked them too, because little did I know they’d soon be my only option.

In the 80’s and 90’s, the Niners were so good that they were always on TV. That changed in the new millennium. I caught some flak from some Pats fans when I mentioned I stuck by the Niners through the lean years, but I don’t think they understood quite what that meant. Not only did the perpetual title contenders struggle to win games, but that meant they were never on TV anymore too. How can I follow a team I can’t watch? It sucked. At least I was able to watch the home team on a regular basis.

The Niners are back now, and so nearly close to the top of the mountain. I’d probably savor this one the most after finally experiencing the lows. Enough of this, time to move on to Ray Lewis.

It’s also time for Ray Lewis to move on. It seems quite hypocritical how he wants everyone to know that he’s a man of God but he also is a whore for the spotlight. The man was involved in an incident that left two people dead. He was originally charged with murder and then later pleaded down to obstruction of justice. The best thing to come of it is this clip from Saturday Night Live:

TV Funhouse- Ray Lewis by AC310DCNow when people ask him about that, he retreats and hides behind his faith. I don’t have a problem with people openly talking about their faith, but he so obviously uses it as a shield whenever he sees fit. It makes me sick. This quote is a perfect example:

“Nobody here is really qualified to ask those questions,” Lewis said. “I just truly feel that this is God’s time, and whatever his time is, you know, let it be his will. Don’t try to please everybody with your words, try to make everybody’s story sound right.”

Nothing about that statement makes any sense at all. If you believe in God and are faithful, isn’t it constantly God’s time? I’d have much more respect for him if he just simply said ‘no comment’. If Ray were to be consistent, he should cite ‘God’s time’ for every question directed his way. The fact that the question is even being asked is a reflection of God’s will. I think Armani Toomer, of all people, actually summed it up quite nicely:

“If you want to say you’re Mr. Religious and all of that, have a clean record.  Don’t say all of that stuff if you know there’s stuff that might come back,” Toomer said.  “Those are the things that, when I look at him, I just think hypocrisy.”

Rumor has it that he’s going into broadcasting pretty much right after this. “I’d love to break down this matchup, but really guys, it’s God’s time.” That would be a terrible pre-game show. If he’s really innocent, he should be able to answer questions about that night.

To make things even worse for him, he’s been accused of using PED’s to come back from his triceps tear. For a guy in his late 30’s to come back from a serious injury in a matter of weeks (when it takes months) makes it highly suspicious. My bullshit meter is blowing up. Ray Lewis is one of the best of all time to play, but in my opinion he’s a joke as a person. No amount of deer antler spray  or illogical ramblings about his faith can fix that.

The Super Bowl party I mentioned at the beginning? Chili, wings, mac & cheese, stuffed quahogs (aka stuffies), jalapeño poppers…all home made. All I need is a few cold brews, a big Niners win, and for Ray Lewis to just shut up and disappear already.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About ejnshow

Runner. Writer. Lover of the absurd. Hobbies include bringing all three of these elements together.

2 responses to “Obligatory Pre-Super Bowl Blog”

  1. runscottygrun says :

    Well put on all accounts.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Training Log: 01/28/13 – 02/03/13, Pt. II « The EJN Show - February 5, 2013

Leave a Reply

InspiRUN

Stream of consciousness / Inspiration on the Run

Thor Kirleis

Making it Happen...

Marx Running

A Running Specialty Store and So Much More

Kelly O'Mara

professional triathlete, amateur troublemaker

#keeprunningblog

"A runner must run with dreams in his heart." - Emil Zapotek

Toni Reavis

~ ~ WANDERING IN A RUNNING WORLD ~~

runnersarah

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Sass & Balderdash

Always tongue in cheek, often egg on face.

Run Prayerfully

Moving with the Spirit - Mile by Mile

RUNNING ON FULL

Documenting life as a competetive runner / Exploring alternative ways to fuel without wheat, dairy or soy

Wandering Wino Foodie

Exploring the world for delicious wine and food!

