Training Log: 01/21/13 – 01/27/13

Monday Jan. 21st: Off day. Just lazy. Wow. Although confidence to resume training has returned after last week’s ass-tearing scare, I still couldn’t get out the door. The holiday was just a convenient excuse. The pool wasn’t open, but still, stuff could’ve been done on my own.

Tuesday Jan. 22nd: Off. Wow.

Wednesday Jan. 23rd: Back in the saddle? Four miles of walking through the frozen tundra that is Boston, followed by two miles on the treadmill. It was a run/walk combo (with minimal walking), done in 18:55. I hate the treadmill but it’s not bad for what I’m doing now. Topped it off with some core exercises.

Thursday Jan. 24th: Off. Oh shit.

Friday Jan. 25th: Off. Pattern=Bad.

Saturday Jan. 26th: Got my act together and cranked up the old treadmill for a couple of miles. The first attempted multi-mile run on Wednesday was done with much hesitation. This time around I had more confidence and was able to run it faster (17:10) and with less walking. Mixed in today: lunges, push-ups, plank. Not planks, but plank (singular). After that, I was off to BU to check out the Terrier Classic and do some Galen Rupp-related Level Renner coverage. I also ran the half mile(isn) to and from the arena. It was cold and I parked kind of far away to comfortably walk. The fact that I could make that run comfortably in jeans and wearing a backpack was a positive development.

IMG_1180
Sunday Jan. 27th: Off.
What did you expect? What a shite week… In my defense, I was sore from all that standing around at the meet yesterday.

Summary: Awful week, pretty much all around. The only thing that saved it was witnessing Galen Rupp damn near break the mile record, and then meeting him and Alberto Salazar afterwards (more on that to come in a separate post). I also found out today that my wife claims she could do 70+ push ups in a row in high school as a cheerleader. Right now I can only bang out 60, maybe. This is alarming on so many levels. The thought that a teenage girl, in any place, time and/or dimension can out-push up me has me concerned. Well, there’s the motivation I needed to get back at it.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About ejnshow

Runner. Writer. Lover of the absurd. Hobbies include bringing all three of these elements together.

Leave a Reply

InspiRUN

Stream of consciousness / Inspiration on the Run

Thor Kirleis

Making it Happen...

Marx Running

A Running Specialty Store and So Much More

Kelly O'Mara

professional triathlete, amateur troublemaker

#keeprunningblog

"A runner must run with dreams in his heart." - Emil Zapotek

Toni Reavis

~ ~ WANDERING IN A RUNNING WORLD ~~

runnersarah

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Sass & Balderdash

Always tongue in cheek, often egg on face.

Run Prayerfully

Moving with the Spirit - Mile by Mile

RUNNING ON FULL

Documenting life as a competetive runner / Exploring alternative ways to fuel without wheat, dairy or soy

Wandering Wino Foodie

Exploring the world for delicious wine and food!

